top of page

Misconceptions about Black Cats

Hi, Daisies!


So today's blog is a little bit off the beaten path. If you don't know already, I am an animal lover. And in honor of today being black cat day, I decided what better way to celebrate it than with a blog post. Now I know this might not be a helpful blog for you, but I hope I can influence you to not pass over black cats when adopting and not feed into the misconceptions about them.


I have a black cat and her name is Bagheera. She is the sweetest cat I have ever met and have never had any bad luck.


Did you know?

31% of cats that are up for adoption are black cats. Black cats are 2/3 less likely to be adopted, giving them the lowest adoption rate as well as the highest euthanasia rate.



Misconceptions about Black Cats


Most of you know already, but black cats have always been associated with witchcraft and bad luck. One reason that they are associated with witches is because of their ability to stay hidden in dark places. This has made them seem like they aren't desirable inside the home, which is completely untrue. Some People also believe that black cats are more aggressive than others, and in my case, I have found that to be completely untrue.


Surprising facts


In some cultures, such as Japan, it is actually good luck to cross paths with a black cat, whereas some people believe it to be bad luck. Sailors were known to pocess black cats on board, as they also believed that they would bring good luck aboard the ship. Egypt considered Black Cats to be sacred and they worshiped them. In Egypt, they had a Goddess names Bastet who was depicted as a woman with the head of a black cat.



Not only good luck, but some parts of the world believe that owning a black cat yoy can improve your love life and attract potential suitors. The National Institute of Health, discovered that the genetic mutation that actually causes a cat's fur to be black also protects them from certain diseases that other cats might get.


I know that this wasn't a very long blog, but I really wanted to share these facts with you because I believe that people aren't doing the right thing by believing these misconceptions. If you really think about it, people are discriminating against black cats just because of what they have heard about them and what they look like.


I disagree completely with what people say about black cats because I think that they are the sweetest cats there are and aren't agressive. My little girl sleeps a lot and loves to cuddle.


If you are going out to adopt a cat please don't just walk past these gorgeous cats. I truly believe that you should give them a chance and adopt a black cat. Save them so they dont end up being just another statistic.


xoxo Backwoods Daisy

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page