top of page

How to Stop Distractions While Working at Home

Updated: Aug 2, 2020

Hi, Daisies! This week I want to talk about distractions.


I know people are still working from home, or always have and know there are so many distractions that occur on a daily basis that it's hard to stay focused. Whether it's your professional career or homework I want to help you be able to complete the task at hand without the stress from all of the distractions.


I went through my top 5 distractions that I believe is very common and wanted to give you some tips on how I don't let the distractions distract me!


#1 Television

It's a big distraction, especially because you're working right in the comfort of your home and it being right there, waiting for you to watch it. Especially when you start binge-watching something it can be hard to stop! Here is what I do rather than turn on the TV, I like to turn on music or to turn on white noise. Don't play the music that has words, try to play just music so that it is just something to play in the background so that you aren't encouraged to stop and dance or sing along.


#2 Other People

When there are other people around it can be a big distraction. Your brain is focusing on a project, while they could be discussing something else. Their conversation could be intriguing and make you want to stop and pipe in on the conversation. Although it is nice to have people around you, it will prevent you from getting your work done. I encourage you to find somewhere quiet you can go to in your house away from others, whether it's your bedroom or another room where you are (without people of course). If you can't go somewhere put in some headphones and try to tune them out so that you can focus on the work at hand.



#3 Notifications/Telephone

When you hear that vibration or notification sound it is very tempting to see who wants to talk to you. Although you might need your phone or those notifications for work, I strongly encourage you to turn them off. Whatever notifications you don't need to TURN. IT. OFF. Put your phone out of reach and turn the sound off. Having just your laptop or whatever work you need on the desk in front of you is the way to go, so you aren't tempted to do anything else other than the task at hand.



#4 Where to start

When you sit down for the day to start your work it can be dawning to figure out where exactly you start. This happens all too much when you don't know where to start, get frustrated, and then give up completely to just go watch Netflix.

Here is what I recommend that you do:

  • Get your coffee (or tea), whatever your poison. As well as anything else you might need.

  • Take out a spare piece of paper and write out what you need to do, what is due, and when it's due.

    • Now organize it by date and when you should have it done by

First, of the Month I write out all the big important due dates, then every Monday I typically write out my full week so I know what to expect, and then go day by day now you have your to-do list out and know exactly what you need to have done, so no excuses!



#5 Technology Tiredness

Sounds weird, but let me explain. After a while it gets tiring, and you will need a break. Don't tell yourself you don't need it because breaks are good! It will allow you to destress and refresh your brain. How I know when I need a break

  • I'm getting tired and can't think about the task at hand

  • I'm starting to stress

  • My eyes are burning or my head is hurting

There are so many distractions when working at home, so try to put those distractions away or limit your availability to them. Focus on the task at hand and organize your day so that you know what is coming up next so you don't slowly slip away from your work.


Grab a cup of caffeine and have some breakfast. This way your brain is ready for the day.




Thank you so much for reading! Got any distractions, or any tips?

Don't Forget to follow us on social media!


xoxo Backwoods Daisy

62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page